Designomicon

Great Shootin’ Quadrupeds | July 22, 2010

Last night I watched Gentlemen Broncos, which is a great film from the same minds that brought us Napoleon Dynamite and Nacho Libre. I love Napoleon Dynamite, I think it’s brilliant, but Gentlemen Broncos is a lot more accessible. I’m not keen on Nacho Libre, I think it’s pretty dull, if I’m honest, mostly because it doesn’t make me laugh – thankfully Gentlemen Broncos is much funnier.

It also stars Jemaine Clement (Flight of the Conchords), who I’m pretty sure lives just across the valley from me, which is closer than it sounds, because the valley isn’t very wide, certainly not one of them big U shaped glacial efforts.

One of the things that makes the film so chortle-worthy are the battle stags…

Sam Rockwell astride a battle stag in Gentlemen Broncos – he’s a lucky guy...

However, it should be noted that Jeff Minter (digital wizard, part reason I’m a game designer and nearly whole reason I listen to Pink Floyd) has been filling screens with death spewing four legged beasts for three decades now! Of all his games the one I have spent most of my time playing is the amazing Robotron tribute, Llamatron…

Llamatron, where you control a Llama with lasers, of course...

There should be a point to this post, but it’s really just an observation.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

