Designomicon

Level Up! | August 10, 2010

Lifts (elevators) are never far from my mind, I work in a building that, at the turn of the year, had four decrepit ones, and it was rare that all of them were working at the same time. These lifts are currently being replaced – one has already been done and we call it the “space lift”, because it moves at about twice the speed of the old units and its doors open in the blink of an eye. Despite this exciting development, it still seems like the lifts go everywhere expect the floor you want.

Building owners - encourage your tenants to take the stairs...

My workplace is seven floors up and I’m fit enough to take the stairs, but I rarely do. The worst part is that I probably waste just as much time waiting for the lift as I would taking the stairs, so for the same amount of time I could be fitter.

Obviously, I had to be reading an article about game design (Ernest Adams on Sim Tower and its elevators, to be precise) before I could think of a solution to my problem. Fundamentally, I need to be incentivized, I need a reward card where I get points for taking the stairs, even for part of my journey, instead of taking the lift. In return for installing and operating a reward scheme I would take fewer lift journeys and reduce the load on the system, meaning the machinery lasts longer and everyone else gets where they’re going faster. Win, win, surely.

Posted in Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I have worked in more than a few buildings with fossilized-elevators (sorry, lifts. I also say aluminum wrong, too). I took the opportunity to use the stairs as much as possible, but only because I was impatient. I accidentally got in better shape due to that.

    Like you, I’d love to see this stuff gamified. I want to earn points for exercise, otherwise what’s the point? Oh, besides living longer.

    Comment by Matt Warren — August 10, 2010 @ 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

