Designomicon

Clone Him | November 10, 2010

Victoria University, here in Wellington isn’t really an institution I know all that much about, but what I do know I like very much. All my visits there are to the School of Design, specifically to classes organised by a Senior Lecturer called Doug Easterly. Even though I am actually on the same side of the teacher/student fence as Doug whenever I visit his classes (handing out design gems like “I think you should use FarmVille’s monetization system and make lots of money,” and “clearly, some of you didn’t listen when I told you to keep the scope small,”), I think Doug might actually be responsible for my long term plan to don a jacket with elbow patches and become a don.

 

Doug looking really serious - he's a lot more happy looking in real life...

 

In times past, I went to university for one term and one week before quitting. This bold move was caused by a multitude of things. Often, people ask me what I studied and when I tell them it was economics they say something like “I’m not surprised you quit.” In truth, what surprises me is that it’s taken me so long to start studying economics again – of late I’ve been wandering too and from work listening to books about the history of the subject. Economics is cool, don’t let anyone tell you any different. I even had a really good economics lecturer, who was probably an advisor to the government in the UK, during the very stable mid ’90s. Like I said though, there was a lot of reasons I quit my degree.

However, much as my economics lecturer was good, and much as he knew what he was talking about, I doubt very much that he ever got up to such fine japes as Doug. One of the things that makes him interesting is that his background isn’t in design, it’s in art, and one of his recent pieces of art work was ruled paper. Nothing too special about that you’re thinking. Well, the lines on the paper were actually micro printed words, like love and peace – apparently normal paper, with hidden depths. That’s a fine piece of work in its own right, but then someone he knew worked in the White House¬†(or perhaps it was someone he knew, knew someone), and was able to smuggle some of the paper into the stationary there.

Paper with an Easter Egg, genius.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

