Designomicon

I Only Stay Up Late For 3 Million Pounds Feet of Thrust | July 9, 2011

What do shuttle launches and Formula 1 Grand Prixs have in common? I’ll give you a clue, it only applies if you live in New Zealand. Give up? The answer is: They both always seem to happen in the middle of the night. Serious bra. Even when a grand prix takes place in a nearby time zone, like Singapore, they turn it into a night race, pushing it back to the small hours! Still, we do get to live in the future and open our Christmas presents first. Swings and roundabouts.

Special occasion, special cup... don't you dare add an extra 'special' comment in there...

And late hours weren’t enough of a reason to stop me from staying up past three to watch Atlantis start her mighty engines one last time, throw fire at the ground, cast steam across the swamp and lift our hearts to the heavens.

A part of me has no interest in accepting this as the last launch. How can it be? I thought I’d already watched Atlantis’ final touch down once before, last year, but she got another flight. Can’t that happen with Discovery and Endeavour? I know it can’t really but I wish it would, then I could keep on pretending I’ll find the money to go see a Shuttle launch one day.

Now I have to find a new dream. What shall it be… Jon Brown, first man on Mars?

What was that?

Yeah, well, that’s what they told Buzz Aldrin too!

 

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

