Designomicon

Sparkling Audio! | August 8, 2011

Ages ago I my brother asked me if I’d ever thought about doing a podcast. I had, and I’d rejected it, because I thought it would be too much work. First you have to figure out what you’re going to say, which involves writing it down, then you have to actually say it, which involves cocking up a million times. Better to write it and then post it, cutting out the audio middle man.

But then, last week, I was at Wellington’s Social Media Club (being spectacularly unsocial, as it happens) and Jayson Bryant was talking about his own first faltering steps in the podcast game, and I felt strangely inspired.

His honesty made it sound like an adventure, almost a challenge. So I forgot all my sensible objections to doing a podcast and began pondering the subject. Fate helped me along with this time wasting by dumping a decent topic in my lap in the form of a news item on Gamasutra, about a wildly expensive item you can buy in a game called Gun Bros.

Everything I expected about the process turned out to be true. First I wrote down what I was going to say, in the detail that I would if I was going to publish the text. Then I arsed around with microphones and cocked about with recording software. I still don’t think it sounds as good as it should but I got it recorded, in the end, after several hours.

Then I realised I had no idea where to actually plonk the MP3 (it’s audio only at the moment, although I might add some images for fun). Finally I found a host and uploaded the thing with much relief, and after ignoring my girlfriend for several precious weekend hours.

As far as I know, only two people have listened to it – me, and I’m sick of hearing my own voice now, and my girlfriend, who thinks I sound like I need a poo.

Anyway, it’s only 3 minutes of your life, so have a listen and see what you think!

 

 

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. if you’re not using the Internet Archive, i’d suggest you give that a shot too 🙂

    Comment by aimee — August 8, 2011 @ 2:21 pm

    • I didn’t even know the IA existed. You’re right, I should use it. I probably should donate to it too.

      Comment by jonbrown1975 — August 8, 2011 @ 2:25 pm


Leave a Reply

